DAY 10 UBC – DEDICATED TO THE ONE I LOVE

Dedicated to the One I Love

It’s Saturday, the day my fur baby left for doggy heaven. We miss her but life goes on as the saying goes. It is true. It does. For everything that happens, the world still spins on its axis as it rotates around the sun. And we are all going along with it. Saturday is still my favourite day even though she is no longer here with me physically. My memories of her are warm and sweet.

I will have none of the bitter sweet stuff. I am careful of my thoughts and what I feed my brain. Loss and the end of things can be/are painful but it is the natural order of things. There is a beginning, middle and an ending to all living things. The challenge lies within our finiteness. We don’t have forever. Time is precious like water. I don’t want it to drain/waste away. This is one of those AHA moments I’ve encountered in this Ultimate Blog Challenge.

I’m learning when to turn off the tap. There’s no point in bashing my head against the wall on things I can’t change. I’ve only hurt myself. It is insanity to keep doing the same thing and expecting a different outcome. Things are not complicated but we make it so. I am having fun and learning as well in this round of the Challenge. Sometimes it is challenging, trying finding the time to write every day and read others and comment as well. But I also find it motivating. I just do the best I can. We are all different. I admire those who does it so well. I try to return visits when I can.

As you can see, I AM finding my way around this new WordPress thing. In the end it turns out the same. I was stuck on the classic version. I hung on with tooth and nail – till they took it away. I was forced into changing. The change is good for my brain’s neuroplasticity. I was hanging onto Sheba hard, too. I couldn’t hang on forever. I have my sweet memories without the bitter part. She was the most pretty and happy girl. I love her.

13 responses to “DAY 10 UBC – DEDICATED TO THE ONE I LOVE”

  1. Anna Maria Junus Avatar
    Anna Maria Junus

    Saying goodbye is hard. It’s okay to feel sad for awhile.

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thank you, Anna.

    2. Martha DeMeo Avatar
      Martha DeMeo

      Our pets are a member of the family our last two dogs lived until they were 18 and 16 years old. I will never forget the joy and fun tim s they brought our. Family. They memories now love in my heart. Sheba will always be with you. Hugs.

      1. hafong Avatar
        hafong

        Thank you, Martha.

  2. kathleenport Avatar
    kathleenport

    I lost my dog Smudge on September 1st, so your loss resonates with mine. He was also black and white, plus lots of distinguished gray in his later years. It’s normal to mourn the loss, and we need self-compassion to know when to turn away from that. It’s ok to, as you say, “turn off the tap” and carry on.

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thank you, Kathleen. Hugs to you. My Sheba’s been gone almost 5 months. She was almost 14. She was quite grey. Even her eye lashes were white. But she was good and ran till her last day.

  3. Dr.Amrita Basu (Misra) MBBS, MS Avatar
    Dr.Amrita Basu (Misra) MBBS, MS

    It’s not easy to continue when you miss a loved one dearly.I am sure Sheba is looking after you from heaven.Keeping our brain clean is important

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thank you so much.

  4. Jan Avatar
    Jan

    It is lovely to see your photos of Sheba here today. Sending some love and hugs to you, it is hard to let go so be gentle with yourself. Change is good and brain health is something I am learning is more in my control, so thank you for the reminder today.

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Yes, Sheba has always been photogenic.Thanks for the love and hugs.

  5. Virginia Allain Avatar
    Virginia Allain

    You are showing your resilience here.
    Glad you are grappling with WordPress and getting the hang of it. I’m still learning the new set-up but it has some features that I like.

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thanks, Virginia. I’m liking the new WordPress now. I just poke around till it works. It’s much like I do everything else.

  6. Glenda Cates Avatar
    Glenda Cates

    I am so sorry for your loss. If you need anything let me know.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.