Day 2 Ultimate Blog Challenge – The Pleasure of Showing up

Oct 2/2020

The Pleasure of Showing Up

So here it is, the 2nd day of the Ultimate Blog Challenge. I’m eager to start my day. I’m ready to put the pedal to the metal and wham! I’m faced with an obstacle, a huge stumbling block. WordPress has changed – with no instructions. Egad! Life is like that. This is art imitating life. I best just get on with it and tap. I’m here. Let me enjoy the experience of trial and error. It’s what I’m good at – tapping without instructions.

I’m a little disconcerted at the moment. It might take me a little to get this post together. I’m faced with a big blank page without all those gizzmo. There are no sidebars. It’s like swimming in the ocean. No edge of the pool to hang on to in case of drowning. But I’ve uploaded a cover photo. I like it. I can write on it. I can move it to left, right or middle. So far I haven’t figured out how to resize it. No matter. It looks good. I can go like this for the whole month. And sometimes the things you need just pop out at you in the moment. I’ve just found where the word count is clicking on the i with a circle around it. Life can be fun and informative if you show up.

I have this motto: No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up. I borrowed it from Regina Brett. It’s a pretty good one and she is a pretty neat lady. Wow, I found how to add a link on this new WordPress thing-a-ma-jig! Now if I can figure out how to add tags, everything else would be a bonus. But carrying on, showing up is a big thing. Many times I’ve been present in body but not mind. I’m sure I’ve missed many moments but I’m not going to cry over spilt milk. Let me start from this moment, to be in the moment and appreciate what I have.

I love my early morning moments when the rest of the world is still asleep. I see my world through a clearer lens. The other morning I saw and felt the pleasure of my surroundings. I saw the sunlight playing on the wall and floor. I could see from my place in the sunroom – the dining room and all the way to the livingroom. I was fully present in the moment. It felt magical.

I think I have had enough fun for now. It is very cool, this new WordPress. I’ve discovered how to resize photos and where to add tags. I better quit while I’m ahead. I’ll be back for more fun tomorrow.

6 responses to “Day 2 Ultimate Blog Challenge – The Pleasure of Showing up”

  1. Julie JordanScott - Fueling Creativity & Hope (@JulieJordanScot) Avatar
    Julie JordanScott – Fueling Creativity & Hope (@JulieJordanScot)

    I enjoyed taking a peek into your early morning. It looks delightfully peaceful – a great way to start the day!

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thanks, Julie. I’ll come for a visit soon.

  2. chef William Avatar
    chef William

    I am really not sure what changed because when they did change I was locked out of my computer and had to switch to my wife’s computer which does not have all the do-dads mine does so this whole week has been learning from scratch. You seem to being just fine and it’s nice that you showed up.

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thanks, it’s like FB. They like to make changes to make us think it’s for the better.

  3. jan Avatar
    jan

    It is hard when they change the format, I think that contributed to me not blogging…though maybe that’s just an excuse. Lovely morning light.

    1. hafong Avatar
      hafong

      Thank you, Jan. Writing is hard for me when I just think about it. Once you get that first word, then it gets easier.

      Lily

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.