NOT BIOLOGY ALONE – Day 70 in a year of….

Day 70, September 30, 2016 @8:48 am

shry6065Morning is not a great time to read about a killing and ridding of a body.  I’m starting the day with an ‘ugh’!  It’s a good thing I’m greeted with the cheeriness of autumn sunshine and the splendid hues of yellows and oranges.  I must behave accordingly.  I do have a choice.  I have a mind.  It can over ride my brain.  I am not ruled by biology only.  Think of the reward. Another dollar in the teapot!

My ‘uglies’ have receded somewhat though I feel the tears on the verge of my eyes.  My body cries, nothing is easy and all the other I feel sorry for myself phrases.  I guess I have to let it have its say, too.  We are in this together, my body, my mind and my brain.  We have to respect and cooperate with each other.

My cup of tea is done.  I will/can sit and stay awhile longer till I am finished.The discomfort, the desire to flee has ebbed.  It is tolerable.  I can even feel a sense of peace sitting here discovering my flaws and strengths.  I am inching forward daily.  Another 4 rows on my sweater.  My grapes are now raisins.  One tomato bed cleaned off.  A flash fiction of 100 words for Friday Fictioneers.

Now I have to go and hang up the laundry from last night and plan my day.  What is on your plate?

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NOT BIOLOGY ALONE – Day 70 in a year of….

  1. ellenbest24 says:

    Wow… you made raisins! I have never met another person (though there must be one or two cos there are so many raisins) who dried their own. Virtually speaking I suppose we haven’t met either. I have read a few posts here over the last couple of days and I wonder ( if you don’t think me rude for saying) maybe if … you are more attuned to being a night person. I get up and bounce and write and fill my day from 5.30 ish I am a lark no question; Which leaves me spent entierly by ten at night. My husband is a night owl so wakes between ten and eleven after two coffees he smiles and is wonderful ; he looks cross and slumps unable to function if woken early. We as writing people need to find our happy… time to write. You could simply feel blughhhh because early isn’t yours. I can’t knit, can’t spend too much time away from my pen to grow much veg ( though fruit and flowers seem to like my garden) and never ever have I even thought of raisins. Jusy in case I forgot you write pretty good too. 😇 Hope today you sparkle from the inside. Pleased to meet you Leung.

    • hafong says:

      Nice to meet you, too! I’m not a morning person in that I don’t feel peppy at all. I’m not sure if I’m an owl either. I used to stay up late. But I was a nurse used to shift work. I’ve been very sleep deprived my working life but have finally reversed all that after 3 years. Now I like to go to bed by 10 pm! And maybe it’s because my partner falls asleep as soon as the sun goes down. 🙂 He’s a true lark. He goes, goes, goes and he’s cheery all the time. He’s written his novel and busy editing.
      I’m a snail and a lethargic one. But I guess I do get a fair bit done. It just feels like I’m not. It’s first time for the raisins. I hate waste and we grew these Concorde Grapes.
      I tend to take on what I read. I’m reading Jill Dawson’s The Crime Writer. I was afraid to pick it up again this morning. I did and was fine with it. I paid more attention to how she writes and describes. So appreciative of your time and comments.

      Lily

Leave a Reply

