SWEET DREAMS

It’s Wednesday, time enough for Friday Fictioneers and their stories of 100 words or so to a photo prompt.  We are hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple.  Anyone can join in.  Here is my little story for this week. I admit it is a little sappy but sometimes it is nice to sweet dream.  Life is harsh.

arena

PHOTO PROMPT © CEAYR

The summer night was warm.  The moon bright even through her rheumy eyes. A breeze stirred the hair around her face.  She sighed softly remembering another night.

They were sitting on the Lido Deck on the Carnival.  A bottle of champagne and two glasses between them, the moon and stars above.  There was silence saved for the lapping of the waves.  The warmth of the night wrapped around them. They sat in its protected cocoon, savouring their last moments.  Tomorrow…

Her head jerked.  She sat up with a start.  Where was she?  Oh, she had fallen asleep with sweet dreams.

 

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to SWEET DREAMS

  1. Beautifully written. Too bad it was all just a dream! 🙂

  2. neilmacdon says:

    Nice evocation of the character

  3. Laurie Bell says:

    Oh such memories! It would be easy to get lost in them.

  4. wmqcolby says:

    Oh, how I have had these moments myself, Lily. You captured it well.
    Neat!

  5. Mike says:

    So good to have sweet dreams. You painted a gentle scene. Well done

  6. gahlearner says:

    Sweet dreams of lovely memories. Not the worst way to remember. A beautifulstory.

  7. Dreams help make reality acceptable!

  8. Dear Lily,

    I didn’t find anything sappy about your story. I was only disappointed when she woke to find it was a dream. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Lux G. says:

    Oh! Go back to sleep please. 🙂

  10. At least she still has her beautiful memories and dreams. Well done, Lily. 🙂 — Suzanne

  11. You wove a lovely, evocative atmosphere in your story, and then told us it was a dream. Not fair! I wanted more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

