LOWER THE DRAWBRIDGE FOR ME

Sunday morning.  I am baking baquettes and trying to write.  I am distracted by dog hair on the floor, thoughts, feelings and excuses of all sorts.  I would just like to sit here in the warmth of the morning sun and do sweet tweet. I would regret it later so I must trudge on. Maybe a cup of tea would soothe the words out of me.

So I’ve had my cup of tea.  The baquettes are done and eaten.  The dishes are dealt with. The dog is walked and her hair are gone.  The thoughts and feelings linger.  It is evening, supper done and I’m sipping my wine, feeling melancholy.  I am sure it has to do with the state of the world today.  We are, or should I just speak for myself, so adrift in this moment.

We want so desperately to connect, don’t we?  If not, why fore all the social media?  I know I am guilty of being on Facebook and Instagram.  I have a Twitter account.  I would tweet more if I understand it more and if I have more followers.  Yet, despite all this, I feel more disconnected and lonely than ever.  Do I have any real friends?

I am trudging through my thoughts and feelings.  I’ve had a glass of wine.  Don’t mind me and my words.  I really want to write about storytelling today.  Somehow I got lost and couldn’t find my way to it.  How nice it would be to back to the days of The Friendly Giant. He would lower the drawbridge for us.  We would enter the castle and he would have arranged some chairs around the fireplace .  Wouldn’t it be nice to sit and listen to each others’ stories?

I miss those days.  Missing is a useless feeling though.  It does not help to connect us at all.  Perhaps I can try again tomorrow for a story. In the meantime, here’s the Friendly Giant.

 

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LOWER THE DRAWBRIDGE FOR ME

  1. Hello Leung Hafong dear Lily,
    I love reading your thousand words and I am sorry I do not tell you daily. I would love to sit with you and talk about our lives it would be so much more energizing for me and I think for all who sit together I miss that kind of friendship. Send me your phone number and I will call you regularly and we can have a cup of tea while we chat as though we are together talking. Please know that I read and respect all of your posts and I save every one of them look at them again to think of you and know you better because of your thousand words. Your words give me a great impression of you and your life you have accomplished a great deal with much more to come and I hope you will continue to share it with me, I will try to share more of myself with you my friend.
    Much Love,
    Emily Ann

    • hafong says:

      Dear Emily Ann: Thank you for your wonderful words! Sheba sends her barks. 🙂 I have kept but edited out your number here. I will call you sometimes tomorrow in the afternoon.

      Lily

Leave a Reply

