AND THE BEAT GOES ON

 

It is exactly Frinday and time for Friday Fictioneers.  We gather each week to tell our stories of approximately 100 words inspired by a photo prompt.  We are hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple.  Here’s my 100 words this week.  My story is inspired also by being lost most of my life.  I have no sense of direction.  Sometimes it makes for good stories.  Thank goodness for Google map.

rainy-night

PHOTO PROMPT -© Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The rain came in torrents, drumming down on the roof.  She could hardly think.  She covered her ears with her hands, lowering her head on the steering wheel.  Thank God she was alone!  There was no witness to her inepitude.

She sat.  There’s no need to rush.  There’s no place to go.  She was lost!  Worse, she couldn’t figured out which button/lever to turn on the wipers.  There was no manual.  She checked.  She couldn’t find the radio either.

She should have checked it all out before she left the rental place.  Should have, could have.  The beat goes on.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to AND THE BEAT GOES ON

  1. Corina says:

    Oh I’ve done that! Got in late at night, got the rental car and drove off. The rain started and I couldn’t figure out how to turn on the wipers. I had to pull over for a bit until it stopped!

    Nice story!

  2. I have actually done almost that..finding that I couldn’t put on the light… Terrible thing to drive a rental.

  3. Solothefirst says:

    Oh yes I think we’ve all done something like this! Poor thing. Great prompt response

  4. Dear Lily,

    I can relate to her. In fact I’ve been her. Driving a rental car is like being in another woman’s kitchen. Nothing is where it’s supposed to be. Very well done. 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Oops…. Hope she can google on her phone 🙂 You captured her helplessness very well.

  6. Jan Brown says:

    I also have poor sense of direction. I tell people that I do my best sight-seeing when lost!

  7. This is so poignant for me right now. This week I had to use a rental while my car was being repaired. It was a foggy morning when it was delivered and I could barely see out the fogged up windows. Defrost button? Radio was on – loud. Volume control? And when I went to refill it with gas …. I can totally relate to this story.

  8. mjlstories says:

    This brought back memories – newly married, first time in the States, first time in an automatic, wrong side of the road, car twice the width we were used to…Surprised we’re both still alive.
    Fun story!

  9. gahlearner says:

    This is great. And of course I can relate, too. I always feel like a complete idiot in a rental car.

  10. Oh, I could feel her panic and frustration. Why can’t the controls always be in the same place? Good story.

  11. Great story. I once borrowed my sister’s car to collect her from the airport and it took me five minutes to work out how to take off the handbrake!

  12. Poor woman. I don’t know if instruction books are all that good any more. Some have one page in English and one each in what seems to be every other known language on the planet. I think I’d turn the starter and start experimenting. It’s better than just sitting there. Sounds like she’s panicked. Well written, Lily. 😀 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

