SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW

It’s Wednesday and I’m ready for Friday Fictioneers and our stories of 100 words.  We’re hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple.  Here’s my 100 words for the picture prompt.  I hope you will enjoy them.  These are hard times and we need a little wizardry and lots of rainbows in our lives.

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Melanie Greenwood

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Melanie Greenwood

Dorothy wondered what had happened.  Last thing she remembered was feeding the chickens for Aunt Em.  Uncle Henry was cleaning the barn.

She gazed around, her mouth opened, her eyes round in wonder.  She saw the rainbow. She was dazed and amazed.  She remembered being swept up by a big wind.

She felt something squirm in her arms.  Toto!  Oh thank God!  At least she was not alone in this strange place.  She put the little black dog down.  They have to find their way back home.

She saw the yellow brick road.  With Toto following, she headed towards it.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW

  1. At least she wasn’t surrounded by the Lollipop Kids – they drive me nuts!

  2. Come to think of it she did end up in a maze of sorts! Good twist to the prompt. 🙂

  3. kirsten says:

    This was an interesting twist on the prompt. I enjoyed it.

  4. Oh Auntie Em….. I wish I was back in Kansas (wrong!)
    😉
    Randy

  5. Dear Lily,

    I think you mean something she felt something squirm (no ed) in her arms.

    Wait for it, Dorothy. The munchkins should be a long any minute. Ding dong! Cute story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. The wind blew so hard here today in Northern Nevada that I swear I saw Dorothy and Toto fly by. Along with 3 panels of my fence.

  7. Clever touch.. That ray of sun is a yellow brick road for sure.

  8. Margaret says:

    Yes. let’s have some wizardry and rainbows. I’m so glad Toto’s not lost – she needs to have him close. Nice story.

  9. Good story, Lily. That always brings back memories. I absolutely loved the part in the film where it turned from black and while to color. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

