A WINTER’S DAY

IMG_2213I am finished playing with my Roomba for today.  The floors are relatively clean but robots are still not as efficient as a human being.  Aren’t you glad?  We are not dispensable after all.  Granted, it is my first day with my little friend so I am not proficient or efficient with it.  It is a little time consuming getting acquainted with its parts, learning to operate it and cleaning it. I am liking it even though it left some of Sheba’s hair here and there.  We will be better tomorrow.

At long last I am able to sit here, sip my tea and tap out some words.  I am pooped! It’s been a long and cold day.  It has made walking Sheba an arduous task, fighting the biting wind and trudging on the hard-packed snow.  I’m feeling exhausted from hunching my shoulders so much.   I will have to hit the swimming pool tomorrow.  The warm water helps to relax my neck and shoulder muscles.

Supper is done, the dishes, pots and pans washed and put away.  The bread is still cooling on the rack.  I have made my usual 6 loaves.  No wonder I am tired!  Yesterday, I baked 3 dozen cookies and a dozen muffins – late Christmas offerings.  I think I’m done with the baking for awhile.  It’s the cleaning up that gets me.  By next week I will have forgotten about it, and be ready to start all over again.  There’s something about a winter’s day, kneading dough and the smell of baking bread.  It soothes and nourishes me.  It makes me feel content.  What works for you?

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A WINTER’S DAY

  1. Yummmmmy! Love the smell of baking bread.

Leave a Reply

