UNRAVELLING BACKWARDS

I’m writing on a prompt from Kelly Letky aka Mrs Mediocrity.  It is from #reverb13.  Kelly writes:

Forward is the only direction.
The mirror never lies, but everything in it is backwards. 
Look at what you see in the mirror. How does it change if you view yourself with eyes that can only look forward?

unravelling_300pxIt’s 4 days after Christmas and 3 days before the new year.  It’s a good time to look ahead and also good to look back to where I have been this past year.  I spent some good time this afternoon unravelling 2014 with Susannah Convoy’s Unravelling the Year Ahead.

Yup, I got brave and looked in the mirror. I dared to see myself as I am today.  Then I looked behind me, at all the backwardness and awkwardness of my past self.  I tell you, it was not easy but I am glad that I did it.

So long I have lived in my head, dancing to old tunes and singing old songs.  I did not know that they were no longer in vogue.  I did not know I was dancing and singing alone, out of step, out of tune.  I was like a marionette without a puppeteer.  I was a dangling conversation without a theme.  I was out of control.

IMG_2142On this cold winter’s day/night, it is good to sit in the warmth of my home.  It is good to sit and reflect.  It is not all about doing.  Sometimes we have to stop and take an inventory of the past year.

  • What did I have in abundance?
  • What did I lack?
  • Where was I going?
  • Did I get there?
  • How did I get there?

Those were some of the questions I answered.  It was accounting for where I had put my energy in 2014.  I discovered uncovered aspects of myself I had not known or acknowledged.  It was a time of tallying the debits and credits to balance the books. How else can I plan for a successful 2015 if I don’t come clean?

The night is getting on.  It is time to close the books.  Tomorrow is another day for more accounting.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

