THE GRASS IS GREENER ON THIS SIDE

So here it is on a Sunday.  It is still a good day for a Friday Fictioneer tale.  We are hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple.  Here is my 100 word story from the photo prompt.

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright -Björn Rudberg

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright -Björn Rudberg

Rose pushed her chair back from the table.  She heaved a heavy sigh.  She looked around the table and listened to the chatter and laughter.  Everyone wore their Christmas sweaters and their best behavior.  No drama and food thrown.

She got up from the table.  The boys had already left for the livingroom.  She watched their glowing faces as their new train clacked along its track, blowing out smoke and then choo choo! as it came out of the tunnel.

The world might be crazy but here in her home, there was peace.

“God bless us, Every One!”  She murmured.

 

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to THE GRASS IS GREENER ON THIS SIDE

  1. What a peaceful story for the season. Thank you!

  2. Margaret says:

    Rose is a fortunate lady, and her Christmas sounds wonderful – although a bit of drama and food-throwing is sometimes fun too. Lovely story, Lily.

  3. Dear Lily,

    What a sweet tale for Christmas. My brother had an electric train. I still remember the scent of the smoke.

    BTW, since so many have been busy with the holidays, I’m extending this prompt for another week. See? You’re not late at all. 😉

    Shalom and Happy New Year,

    Rochelle

    • hafong says:

      Thank you Rochelle! I was remembering the train sets that my mother gave my nephews for xmas. Now they’re all grown up. I wonder if kids still get them or is it all electronics nowadays.

      Happy New Years!

      Lily

  4. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Lily,

    A tale for the ages, as trite as that may sound. You truly captured the essence and hope of Christmastime.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. Lily, A lovely and well done Christmas story. This seems to be a family who are just happy to be together. That’s great. Happy Holidays! 🙂 — Suzanne

  6. Sandra says:

    Idyllic Christmas fun.

Leave a Reply

