BOBBY SINGS THE BLUES

It’s not quite Friday but it’s close enough to tell my story of 100 words on Friday Fictioneers. Our genteel host is Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  We are both addicted to purple. My story is inspired by Miss Janis Joplin’s singing the blues.

Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose”

I just love her cackle at the end of the song, don’t you?

campfire

PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The fire roared in her belly. She felt the heat rising to her chest, up her throat into her mouth. She breathed out and saw the white cloud billowing into the cool air.

She sighed, releasing more steam into the night. Collapsing against the wall, her breath was jagged and painful. Her heart pounded. She heard its echo in the silence.

Not much longer! She muttered under her breath. Not much longer! I WILL be free.

The pain stabbed her heart like a bolt of lightning. She clutched and clawed at it, falling to the ground. The flames claimed her.

 

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to BOBBY SINGS THE BLUES

  1. krangara says:

    Oh dear – You ROCK, Lily!!!! I’d be beyond ecstatic if my attempt to pen a 100 word story is even half as brilliant as yours! #HUGSS

    Love ya
    Kitto

  2. Excellent story and excellent inspiration! I love that woman’s voice!

  3. So much left unsaid and unknown, yet such pain revealed.

    janet

  4. Oh .. so sad.. all her efforts were in vain.. and claimed by fire.

  5. Grace says:

    This certainly leaves the reader wanting for more….well done

  6. hafong says:

    They say fire is very cleansing.

    Lily

  7. rgayer55 says:

    Dear Lily,
    They say freedom is never free. Sounds like she paid the full price for hers. Well written piece.

  8. Very “poetic” in an odd sort of way. I really liked this piece. Not much longer —– for what? MMMmmm

  9. A freedom of sorts I guess. Nicely written.

  10. There are so many unanswered questions around this piece. I really like how it made me think, even if I can’t completely work out what’s going on!

    • hafong says:

      Thank you Claire. I don’t know how it’s going to work out either. That’s the mystery and beauty of life – a lesson for me who is constantly trying to figure things out.

      Lily

  11. Amy Reese says:

    Beautifully written, Lily, I’m rooting for her and the fire claims her so suddenly. Whoa, I’m left wondering but still fully satisfied.

  12. Lily, Great description. It seems she really gave becoming free everything she had left and used it up. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  13. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Lily, Just a wonderful story with all the descriptions and what a sad way to go, but the pain was horrible too! Excellent! Nan 🙂

  14. Her struggle was so well captured even without being explained. Well written 🙂

Leave a Reply

