NO PRETTY WOMAN HERE

anne lamott

Photo from Amazon.com

It’s  wonderful for me to find a writer like Anne Lamott. She writes of life as it really can get sometimes – life in all its nauseating details. Her writing makes me feel it’s okay to be human after all.

I don’t think that I am a negative person.  Every day I try to find something positive and send my thanks to the universe.  But to tell the truth, I feel my demons at times.  They  get the best of me on certain days and I have to let them out. Is that so bad?

Life is real and so are demons.  Is it not better to acknowledge and accept that?  At least I would not be denying the realities of my feelings.  I would not denying myself.  If I cannot accept and value myself, how can I expect anyone else to respect me?

angry_customer

Photo credit – http://blog.sweetiq.com/

I cannot espouse, mumble jumble false platitudes.  It is just not me.  It would be a waste of my precious energy. And so, I rave and rant, complaining, bitching about this and that – about Tom, Dick, and Betty.  I know the uselessness of it all. Often, it is upon myself that the blame falls on.  Who can blame the people – as they watch and listen to this mad woman throwing forth her angry words?

Certainly not me! I hear myself. I see myself. It’s not a pretty picture at all. At least I am honest.  I have no cover ups. What you see is what you get.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NO PRETTY WOMAN HERE

  1. I absolutely love Anne Lamott. Her book, Bird by Bird, is one of my favorites.

  2. I haven’t read any of Anne’s books, but I just looked at a list of her works. What lovely titles. I see she has a number of non fiction titles. I will be checking her out. Incidentally – we all have good sides and ugly sides, we humans. That is part of what makes us human. A good author will expand on the human experience – one reason why I enjoy reading!

  3. I haven’t read any of Anne’s books either. But your truth and honesty in today blog post is appreciated. Not every day is a fabulous day and there are times when we vent. I like the human approach!

Leave a Reply

