CORNERED

 

It’s Friday and time for fiction of 100 words, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Photo prompt -copyright-adam-ickes

He advanced towards her, his face shiny with perspiration.  Her breath caught in her throat as she backed up against the wall, with nowhere else to go.  She clutched the front of her uniform.

“Why were you gossiping about me?”  He demanded.  She smelled his rancid breath and wrinkled her nose.

” I d-did no such thing!”  She stammered.

“My friend overheard a housekeeping staff talking about me to someone at Walmart.  Nobody knows about it besides you.”

She felt like a cornered animal, her face shiny and sweaty as his.  She scanned her mind quickly, coming up with an answer.

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to CORNERED

  1. Sun says:

    eww, his rancid breath scared me into the corner too! oh, hope she comes up with a good answer to your well told story, Lily.

  2. I’m so scared for her and I’ve only known her for 100 words. Well done.

  3. Amy Reese says:

    Scary, Lily, and very realistic. Ooh, I wonder what her answer will be. Anything to get out of that corner. Great take!

  4. Alice Audrey says:

    Uh-oh. It’s never wise to get scared into a corner. Especially by rancid breath. She better find her way out fast.

  5. AnnIsikArts says:

    Gossips rarely get their come-uppance, so I’m happy to read a story in which one does. Gossip does massive damage in society. Good take on the prompt. 🙂

  6. Don’t gossip in Walmart. Lesson learned. Fun story.

  7. ahtdoucette says:

    Really good and vivid response to the prompt. I hope she finds a way out of this soon.

  8. Dear Lily,

    I hope that doesn’t mean he’s coming after me next. 😉 Your last line made me smile.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Lily, Creepy guy that doesn’t like to be talked about – Thank goodness for Friday Fictioneers! You can write yourself an escape plan now! Good job! Nan 🙂

  10. Lily, That was a creative take on the prompt. I also hope she comes up with an answer fast to save herself. Well written story. 🙂 —Susan

  11. camgal says:

    Very creative. Moral of the story…don’t gossip if you’re the only person who knows what you’re gossiping about. Hope she finds a way out.

  12. elappleby says:

    nicely done – I love the ‘rancid breath’ (well, obviously I don’t love it, I love the description 🙂 )
    And the way you left it hanging on a tense moment was excellent.

  13. Sarah says:

    Scary! Good story.

Leave a Reply

