FERTILE GROUND

The day is in glorious warmth and sunshine.  A fresh breeze is coming in from my window.  The air is alive with children’s voices and laughter from the daycare one house removed.

We are back from our morning bike ride, the three of us – the man on his recumbent trike, me on my upright trike and Sheba on foot.  I have a couple of shots of us before we headed out.

It was a little harder managing my iPhone, bike and dog while in motion.  It was a little tricky as you can tell by these shots.  One handed Annie was not good with her aim!

 

We are back and I am tapping away on my keyboard in the midst of my usual clutter and mess.  I have been reading Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird.  I like what she says of clutter.

“But clutter and mess show us that life is being lived.  Clutter is wonderfully fertile ground – you can still discover new treasures under all those piles, clean things up, edit things out, fix things, get a grip.  Tidiness suggests that something is as good as it’s going to get.  Tidiness makes me think of held breath, of suspended animation, while writing needs to breathe and move.”

Yesterday I had looked under some of my piles, cleaned a few things up.  I found a couple of treasures.  I held them in my hands and could not edit them out – yet.  I filed them for the time being.  It’s hard to erase myself.

I’m fixing things bit by bit.  I am getting a grip.  My feet are firmly on the ground, though my mind wanders from time to time.  There’s always things to work on – piles to clear, words to write, stitches to ply, love to be had, God to thank…

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FERTILE GROUND

  1. lcrilley says:

    Love the pics you took while riding your bike. Great perspective shift with “treasures” being in piles of clutter. I find that I just can’t think without clear, clean surfaces around me . . . so I’m feeling like I’m missing out now on some hidden treasures!

  2. I love your quote about clutter. Now I have confirmation that clutter is not a bad thing; that it is a sign of a life well lived. I have to look up recumbent tricycles – that would be perfect for me and my bad back.

    • hafong says:

      Thank you Alana. My partner has built 3 recumbent bikes from plans he got from Atomic Zombie. They’re also good for people with arthritis & can’t get up onto an upright bike.

  3. jenniesisler says:

    I am one of those people who get totally messed up when I clean and put things away. It’s not clutter if I know where stuff is, right? At least that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Love the photos from your bike ride. It would have ended very badly for me to try and take photos while on the bike;)

    • hafong says:

      It’s nice to have company. 🙂 At least the bike is on dry ground. I almost killed my last iPhone going into the lake with the boat. Everything did come back except the camera after I dried it in rice.

Leave a Reply

