THOSE FEELINGS OF PROCRASTINATION

I’ve finally made the call!  It does relieve those ugly feelings that accompany procrastination.  They don’t feel like butterflies but IMG_0706bricks in the stomach, weighing me down. It’s hard to unload them.  I do not understand the whys and wherefores of it but I do recognize the feelings of lassitude that encompasses me when I am putting things off.

Procrastination is one of those things like New Year’s resolutions that can’t be conquered or kept.  And like love, there ain’t no cure.  In my mind, it’s senseless to waste energy trying to understand and conquer.  It’s better to use my energy in a way that will get results.

I have to prioritize things that need doing.  Then I have to break it down into steps to accomplish the deed.

  •  My car’s tailgate is corroded and needs a paint job.  The recall letter from Honda came last April.
  • My car has already been in to the dealer.  Tailgate photographed.
  • It takes 4 days to do the job.  I need to phone to make an appointment.
  • Pick up phone to make appointment

It’s really pretty easy to pick up the phone and dial, and yet it was not.   I had to fight back those feelings of “I don’t want to’s” and an uncomfortable feeling of  unidentifiable origin.  I stretched and stretched and finally did it.

The appointed day is June 23rd.  It is marked in my calendar.  It is a small victory.  I might even read my book on procrastination.  I’ve had it long enough!

 

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THOSE FEELINGS OF PROCRASTINATION

  1. Phone calls to make appointments are a huge source of procrastination for me too!

Leave a Reply

