RE-FRAMING

27097_321356195886_8251743_nWhat a difference a day makes!

I almost bounced out of bed this morning and if I could whistle, I would have.  And what was that difference?  It really wasn’t the weather, though it was sunny and the temperature was still on the minus side.  There was no wind though.  Maybe that was it.

But perhaps it could be that I reframed how I saw my world.  It was a conscious effort on my part.  It really wasn’t much fun being restless, quirky and anxious like I was.  I wasted energy I could not afford.  But I accepted that which I could not change at the time.  I stored and catalogued my experience for future reference.

I found that tiger and put it in my tank and headed out with Sheba for our walk before 9 am.  The morning sunlight IMG_0625warmed our faces.   The trees stood proud and magnificent, stretching out their bare arms to greet the day. What joy it was to see their naked beauty.  And I am reminded again to change the lens I see through from time to time.  There is beauty all around us – all the time.

Energized and inspired, I took advantage of the space and time I found myself and tended to my yard and garden, one little area at a time.  There was pleasure in each moment, the clearing of leaves and winter’s debris.

The rose bush got pruned, one flower bed cleaned and the garden dug.

IMG_0632The rest of the yard still looks like hell, as my neighbour was fond of saying.  Who cares and whose yard was it anyways?  Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  Sheba thinks it looks just fine.  And that’s what counts!

 

 

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to RE-FRAMING

  1. Romi says:

    What a beautiful post!
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.,Hafong (Lily).
    I love taking a walk, observing trees, flowers and birds. It is so refreshing, and inspiring.

    — I also say my last name first, though I never reveal it on the Internet. I was born, brought up, and have always lived in Japan.

    (I’ve come here through NaBloPoMo.)

    Enjoy gardening, one step at a time.

  2. kleebanks says:

    Good morning! Stopping by from the Facebook UBC group. Congrats on your “re-framing” success – and apparently I have done this, as well, but didn’t think of that clever way of describing it! My re-framing has included saying out loud each morning “Thank You, Lord, for another victorious day of living” or something similar. Just that mindset and physically saying those words seem to make a difference, instead of groaning and moaning about “facing” another day!

    • hafong says:

      Thanks for visiting! Yes, we all have our own unique way of re-framing. And it is good. Have a nice weekend and Happy Mother’s Day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

