A SLOWER TIME

Today is my third day off from work and I am feeling fine.  Last week feels like an eon ago.  I feel as if I’ve lost a chunk of time and myself in those long hours at the hospital.  I am in recovery mode.  I wonder if other 12-hour shiftworkers experience similiar feelings.  Maybe I am just an oddball.  I dont have the metal to cut the pedal.  Is that how the saying goes?

It was rainy and grey most of the day yesterday, not good time for working outside or doing anything else.  We went to the Western Development Museum instead.  It was a welcomed change in our routine.  It has been many years since I was in Boomtown.  The last time was when I took my nephews Adrian and Michael.  They are both in their 20s now, so you can count the years.

Boomtown has grown in my absence!  It took me awhile to orientate myself to my new surrounding.  I heard this frantic voice inside me:  What do I do now?  Where should I go first?  Quick, get the camera out!  Take pictures!  Take pictures!  I had to find my other voice:  You don’t have to do anything yet.  This is not the hospital.  There is no such thing as: STAT!  You can just stroll and enjoy the ambiance.

This is Boomtown.  There is no traffic, no traffic lights, no sirens, no ambulances…only people who wants to see and experience some of our history.  It is a place to feel some of yesteryear when things were slow and mellow.  It deserves more visits from me.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

